Flagstaff to Carlingford

Report by Douglas Barry

Deon McNeilly was in fine form when winning the extremely tough Flagstaff race the second round of the Irish Championship on Sunday 20th June 1999 and organised by Brian Vallely. The former winner of the British Cross country champs set out with a vengeance up the initial steep climb of Clermont mountain, hotly pursued by the hitherto in form Robin Bryson. However, poor route choice at this early stage in the 17.6 kilometre cost Robin dearly. He took a more direct but rougher route and lost 30 seconds almost immediately to his Newcastle clubmate.

McNeilly powered on over the main ridge of the Cooleys and gradually pulled out a longer lead on Bryson. Robin appeared a little drained from his Herculean effort in setting a record of 23 hours 19 minutes when he ran to the summit of each of the Irish 3,000 foot mountains. Oh, I might mention that he cycled the 235 miles between them! At the Windy Gap, Deon had a couple of minutes over Robin and the race was won, despite the toughest section over the bristling hump of Slieve Foye that still awaited them.

Joan Flanagan (Ajax) put in a storming effort to win the women's race from Shilleen Donnelly who was with her all the way. Shilleen went ahead on the climbs, but Joan prevailed on the descents where her greater experience put distance between her and the BARF runner. Promising Junior Valerie Murray took third. The evergreen Jim Patterson took the 0ver 50 category, and incredibly is still so fit, he was first vet and was 5th overall.

Results

1 Deon McNeilly Newcastle 1.31.49

2 Robin Bryson Newcastle 1.34.40

3 Damien Brannigan Newcastle 1.36.45

4 Neil Carty North Belfast 1.38.44

5 Jim Pattison 0/50 Albertville 1.44.45

6 Peter Howie 0/40 Larne 1.44.47

7 Billy McKay 0/45 Albertville 1.50.26

8 Jeff Somerville Unattached 1.51.28

9 Eoin Keith IMRA 1.53.18

10 David McNeilly Jun Ballydrain 1.53.27

- 11 Jim Hayes 0/50 Ballydrain 1.53.50
- 12 Michael Kelly IMRA 1.55.12
- 13 Jim Brown BARF 1.57.22
- 14 Paul Mohan IMRA 2.05.56
- 15 Joan Flanagan Lady AJAX 2.06.36
- 16 Shileen Donnelly Lady BARF 2.10.20
- 17 Brian Bell 0/45 BHRR 2.10.34
- 18 Joe Lalor 0/40 IMRA 2.12.43
- 19 Robert Ferry 0/50 Cookstown 2.13.13
- 20 Greg Clarke Albertville 2.13.32
- 21 Jeff Lalor IMRA 2.13.34
- 22 Eddie Reid 0/45 Dunboyne 2.13.36
- 23 Donal O'Kane Unattached 2.13.39
- 24 Frazer Crawford BARF 2.14.23
- 25 Joe Feeney 0/45 Dunboyne 2.15.31
- 26 Cormac MacDonnchada IMRA 2.16.14
- 27 Valerie Murrey Jun/Lady Newcastle 2.16.27
- 28 Eddie O'Hagan Newry 2.16.50
- 29 Michael Hunter Willowfield 2.17.57
- 30 John McBride 0/40 BARF 2.18.01
- 31 Vivian O'Gorman 0/40 IMRA 2.18.40
- 32 Willie John Brown 0/45 Newcastle 2.18.40
- 33 Trevor Wilson BARF 2.32.45
- 34 Richard Stephens ACKC 2.38.27
- 35 Ian McMurray 0/40 BARF 2.39.54

- 36 John Adgey 0/50 Albertville 2.41.47
- 37 Ian Taylor 0/50 BARF 2.43.56
- 38 Hugh Young 0/55 Ballydrain 2.44.45
- 39 Ronan Halpin Unattached 2.49.50
- 40 Danny Toye 0/50 AJAX 3.39.00
- 41 Jim O'Brian 0/50 AJAX 3.39.00
- 42 Eva Mulleady Lady Crusaders 3.39.00